This event has ended

The World's Most Improbable Event?

Conway Hall

Sunday, 30 September 2012 at 14:00 (BST)

London, United Kingdom

Ticket Information

Ticket Type Sales End Price Fee Quantity
Standard Ended £10.00 £0.85
Concessions   more info Ended £7.00 £0.79

Share The World's Most Improbable Event?

Event Details

Conway Hall & Little Atoms present...

The World's Most Improbable Event

with the Father of the IgNobel Prizes, Marc Abrahams

 

Expect a gaggle of excited scientists, journalists, researchers, along with a few other improbably interesting folk talk about research on; why books on ethics are more likely to get stolen, what time of month generates higher tips for Las Vegas lap dancers, stories of how mice were outfitted with parachutes to find a better way to murder tree snakes in Guam, and Other WTF Research.

Nick Doody@NickDoody Stand up Comedian and The Atheist's Guide to Chrismas contributor

Michael Brooks:@DrMichaelBrooks Science Writer and Author of Free Radicals

Helen Arney:@HelenArney Science Songtress

Chloe Kembery: @chkchk Natural Historian

Timandra Harkness:@TimandraHarknes Mathematician and science communicator

Gemma Arrowsmith:@Mmarrow Actress and writer

Dr Helen Scales:@HelenScales Marine Biologist

Mo Costandi@mocost Writer of Neurophilosophy for the Guardian

Alom Shaha:@alomshaha Physics teacher and author of The Young Atheist's Handbook

Simon Ings:@simonings Novelist and science author

Neil Denny@littleatoms Radio show producer and Winston Churchill Memorial Travelling Fellow

Alice Bell:@alicebell Science lecturer and communicator extraordinaire

Steve Colgan:@stevyncolgan QI contributor and Ex-Met Police 'Ninja'

Dr Stuart Clark@DrStuClark Science writer and novelist

Iszi Lawrence:@iszi_lawrence Comedian and writer

Dan Schreiber@Schreiberland Ex-QI Elf and Producer of  BBC R4 The Museum of Curiosity

Helen Zaltzman:@helenzaltzman Writer, speaker, autodidact

Aarathi Prasad:@AarathiPrasad Scientist and author

Helen Keen@helen_keen Radio presenter and astro-tainer

Alok Jha@alokjha Guardian Science Correspondent

and more who will probably just turn up on the day.

Marc Abrahams is the editor of the parody magazine Annals of Improbable Research and the founder of the Ig Nobel Prizes, which honour bizarre, questionable, and downright funny scientific research and are presented at an annual ceremony at Harvard University. Abrahams and the Ig Nobel have been widely covered, including by the Guardian, the New York Times, New Scientist, Scientific American, and newspapers and TV programmes internationally. The author of The Ig Nobel Prizes, published in 2002, Abrahams writes a weekly column for the Guardian. He lives in Massachusetts.

Do you have questions about The World's Most Improbable Event?? Contact Conway Hall

Please log in or sign up

In order to purchase these tickets in installments, you'll need an Eventbrite account. Log in or sign up for a free account to continue.