£7.81 – £41.08

Bernardine Evaristo and Philippa Perry: Join in-person or online

Actions and Detail Panel

From £7.81

Event Information

Share this event

Date and time

Location

Location

Online event

Refund policy

Refund policy

No Refunds

Event description
Booker-winning novelist Bernardine Evaristo and psychotherapist Philippa Perry will be in conversation live from Kings Place in London.

About this event

In 2019, Evaristo became the first Black woman to win the Booker Prize. Her novel Girl, Woman, Other, was widely praised for its multi-voiced portrayal of Black womanhood, and for raising timeless questions about feminism and race.

Her new book, Manifesto, is both a memoir, and a guide for aspiring writers, written by a trailblazing artist who has moved from the margins of British culture to centre stage. She draws on her childhood - one of eight children to a Nigerian father and a white mother in South London - to explore British ideas around class, identity and heritage. And through personal stories she provides inspiring lessons about the power of change, self-confidence and not giving up.

She will talk to psychotherapist and Observer columnist Philippa Perry about her life and writing, and answer some of your questions.

You can join this event in-person, or via the livestream. Tickets are £25 to attend the event, or £7 to watch it online. See tickets for further details.

Running time: 60 minutes

Closed captions will be available for this event.

If you live in the United Kingdom, you can purchase a ticket with a copy of Manifesto at checkout for the special combined price.

This event will be hosted on a third-party live streaming platform Notified, please refer to their privacy policy and terms and conditions before purchasing a ticket to the event.

After registering, please refer to your confirmation email for access to the event.

This event is in-person and being streamed globally.

7.30pm GMT | 8.30pm CET | 11.30am PST | 2.30pm EST

Or see this time zone converter to check your local live streaming time.

If you are unable to join at the time of the event, it will be available to watch on demand in the days following. A link to the recording will be sent to all ticket holders.

Share with friends

Date and time

Location

Online event

Refund policy

No Refunds

{ _('Organizer Image')}

Organiser The Guardian Live

Organiser of Bernardine Evaristo and Philippa Perry: Join in-person or online

Guardian Live is a programme of discussions, debates, interviews, keynote speeches and festivals featuring Guardian journalists, politicians, authors, musicians, thought-leaders and more.

Save This Event

Event Saved