Book Fringe 2019 : Lighthouse Bookshop Edition!

Event Information

Share this event

Date and Time

Location

Location

Lighthouse - Edinburgh’s Radical Bookshop

43-45 West Nicolson Street

Edinburgh

EH8 9DB

United Kingdom

View Map

Event description

Description

The Book Fringe is a free, community book festival run by two independent Edinburgh bookshops, Lighthouse in Southside, and Golden Hare Books in Stockbridge.

The Book Fringe is a chance for readers to meet world-class writers in the intimate and lively settings of local bookshops at one of two kinds of event:

Lunchtime at Lighthouse: These start at 1pm and run for 30 minutes.
Evenings at Golden Hare: These start at 6.30pm and run for 1 hour.

ALL events are FREE: no tickets, no ticket booking! The full program is available at www.bookfringe.com, but here are all the Lighthouse events in one place!

Sat 3rd August. 1pm. QUEER WORDS WITH QUEER POETS
Tuesday 6th August. 1pm. FABULOSA! THE STORY OF POLARI
Wednesday 7th August. 1pm. YES, YOU ARE TRANS ENOUGH
Thursday 8th August. 1pm. PALESTINE +100: With Rawan Yaghi
Sunday 11th August. 1pm. SAFE: ON BLACK BRITISH MEN RECLAIMING SPACE
Tuesday 13th August. 1pm. THE HEART OF A STRANGER: EXILE LITERATURE
Wednesday 14th August. 1pm. AMELIA ABRAHAM : QEER INTENTIONS
Saturday 17th August. 1pm. SHIV MALIK: THE MESSENGER, STORY OF A JOURNALIST
Sunday 18th August. 1pm. IT'S NOT ABOUT THE BURQA
Monday 19th August. 1pm. RESIST: STORIES OF UPRISING
Thursday 22nd August. 1pm. THE FORGOTTEN WOMEN OF BAUHAUS
Friday 23rd August. 1pm. ELIF SHAFAK: 10 MINUTES AND 38 SECONDS IN THIS STRANGE WORLD
Saturday 24th August. 1pm. SULAIMAN ADDONIA: SILENCE IS MY MOTHER TONGUE
Sunday 25th August. 1pm. TWO NASTY WOMEN ON FEMINISM AND ISLAM
Tuesday 27th August. 1pm. DEBORAH LEVY: SWALLOWING GEOGRAPHY


Paper copies of the program are available too, from both Lighthouse and Golden Hare Books!



The bookshop is wheelchair accessible, events are seated and speakers use microphones throughout their events. We have further details about accessibility HERE, or feel free to get in touch, we're happy to help however we can!

The Bookshop operates a Safe Space Policy which all guests and speakers are asked to respect - you can read it here.

Share with friends

Date and Time

Location

Lighthouse - Edinburgh’s Radical Bookshop

43-45 West Nicolson Street

Edinburgh

EH8 9DB

United Kingdom

View Map

Save This Event

Event Saved