Event Information

Share this event

Date and Time




16 Narrow Quay



United Kingdom

View Map

Event description


The 2018 Community Energy Awards will take place at the Arnolfini in Bristol on the evening of 19 October as part of Green Great Britain Week, following on from a conference, The Energy Transition: Top Down v Grassroots, with Bristol Energy Network and Bristol City Council to explore how local authorities and communities have been tackling climate change over the past decade since the Climate Change act was first enacted.

We invite the community energy sector to a drinks reception and celebration of its resilience and innovation at one of Bristol's most inspiring venues. Please use this page to register to attend the awards.

Bristol City Council and Co-op Energy are headline sponsors of the 2018 Community Energy Awards. Further sponsorship opportunities are available.

Nominations are now closed for all awards except the Photo Award (see below for how to nominate) and Young Champion Award (nominate here).

The Community Energy Photo Award will be decided by the public with online voting before the awards ceremony. The winner will receive a canvas of their image, and the image will be used as part of the annual State of the Sector Report and wider sector promotion. All photo nominations must be sent to along with:

  • The name of the photographer
  • Description of the image
  • Why the image captures the essence of community energy
  • Permission from the photographer or owner of the photograph for CEE to use the photograph in publicity, marketing and promotional materials including online and social media whether or not it is the final winner

The Community Energy Young Champion Award is designed to celebrate the next generation who are getting involved with Community Energy. We are accepting nominations here.

What are the award categories?

  • Community Renewable Energy Project Award - The most outstanding renewable electricity generation project undertaken by a community group. Organisations nominated for this award must be members of Community Energy England or Community Energy Wales.
  • Community Energy & Carbon Saving Award - The community group which has undertaken the most inspiring energy conservation and/or management project
  • Local Authority Award - The Local Authority which has done most to help local community energy organisations through partnering, investing, policy or other support
  • Collaboration Award (Sponsored by Power To Change) - The most commendable collaboration between community and commercial / public / third sector partners
  • Community Energy Finance Award -The community group and/or its funders and advisers, which have achieved the most impact through a range of financial instruments/mechanisms, through grant funding, debt finance, community shares, funding platforms or new funding models
  • Community Energy Champion - The individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the advancement of the community energy sector over recent years
  • Community Energy Young Champion - A new award for 2018 celebrating the increasing amount of creative, organised and motivated young people getting involved in community energy.
  • Community Energy Photo Award - The original photo which best captures the essence of the community energy movement

Judging Panel

Judges confirmed so far are:

  • Patrick Allcorn - Department of Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy
  • Sonya Bedford - Stephens Scown (2017 Comunity Energy Champion)
  • Mark Billsborough - Co-op Energy
  • Shea Buckland-Jones - Institute of Welsh Affairs
  • Léonie Greene - Solar Trade Association
  • Jon Hallé - Sharenergy (2016 Community Energy Champion)
  • Will Walker - Power to Change
  • Philip Wolfe - Former CEE Chair.

See more information on each of the judges.

Previous winners

Community Renewable Energy Project Award

2017 Winner: Gower Power [see case study]
Commendation: Energy Local [see case study]

2016 winner: Awel Aman Tawe [see case study]
Commendation: Ynni Anafon Energy

2015 winner: Chase Community Solar

Community Energy & Carbon Saving Award

2017 winner: South East London Community Energy [see case study]
Commendation: Carbon Co-op [see case study]

2016 winner: Brighton & Hove Energy Services Cooperative [see case study]

2015 winner: Wey Valley Solar Schools Energy Co-operative

Local Authority Award

2017 winner: Oldham Council [see case study]
Commendation: Energise Barnsley - Barnsley Metropolitan Borough Council [see case study]

2016 winner: Plymouth City Council [see case study]

2015 winner: Cornwall Council

Collaboration Award [Sponsored by Power to Change]

2017 winner: M&S Energy Society [see case study]

2016 winner: Cyd Ynni [see case study]

2015 winner: Saddleworth Community Hydro

Community Energy Finance Award

2017 winner: Leapfrog Finance [see case study]

2016 winner: The Naturesave Trust and Naturesave Policies Ltd [see case study]

2015 winner: Ethex

Community Energy Champion

2017 winner: Sonya Bedford [see case study]

2016 winner: Alistair Macpherson [see case study]

2015 winner: Jon Hallé and Adam Twine

Community Energy Photo Award

2017 winner: Westmill Turbine Hug

Share with friends

Date and Time



16 Narrow Quay



United Kingdom

View Map

Save This Event

Event Saved