£5.83 – £11.06

Coronavirus explained: The US pandemic election

Event Information

Share this event

Date and Time

Refund Policy

Refund Policy

No Refunds

Event description
All eyes are on Donald Trump, whose response to the Coronavirus pandemic has caused deep divisions within the US.

About this Event

Despite the president’s claims that America is “leading the world” in the fight against the disease, the country is seeing a steady rise in infections and deaths, with contradictory and increasingly bizarre advice coming from the presidential podium.

Will Trump’s failure to bring the virus under control imperil his chances of re-election in November? Will he be hurt or helped by his advice to people in key battleground states to defy the lockdown and “liberate” themselves? And what does it mean for a man who was going to campaign as the saviour of the US economy that the country is heading for a massive downturn?

In the next of our Coronavirus explained series, we will be joined by Guardian world affairs editor Julian Borger, Guardian columnist Jonathan Freedland, and Professor Sarah Churchwell of the School of Advanced Study to discuss a critical campaign in the age of coronavirus.

Running time: 60 minutes

This event will be hosted on a third-party live streaming platform BlueJeans, please refer to their privacy policy before purchasing a ticket to the event. After registering, you will receive a unique link to access the event online.

If you require closed captions to be available on this event notify us on your booking form when making your purchase.

This event is streaming globally.

6pm BST | 7pm CEST | 1pm EDT | 10am PDT

Check your local live streaming time here.

Share with friends

Date and Time

Location

Online Event

Refund Policy

No Refunds

Save This Event

Event Saved