£5

Event Information

Share this event

Date and Time

Location

Location

International Anthony Burgess Foundation

3 Cambridge Street

Manchester

M1 5BY

United Kingdom

View Map

Refund Policy

Refund Policy

Refunds up to 1 day before event

Event description

Description

A land derelict and flooded by ceaseless rain... The International Anthony Burgess Foundation, Blackwell's Manchester & Granta Books welcome Irish writer Danny Denton to Manchester.

Danny will be launching his debut novel ‘The Earlie King & The Kid In Yellow’, described by Cillian Murphy as “absolutely marvellous” – and a must for fans of Peaky Blinders, Blade Runner, George Saunders and Tom Waits.

The novel explores Ireland in a post-digital future. A baby is born to The Kid in Yellow and to the daughter of The Earlie King, named simply T. As the Kid goes on the run with the baby, the Earlie Boys are set on the warpath. From every wall, the King's Eye watches.

Danny Denton is from Cork and has written for the Irish Times, Irish Examiner, and RTE Arena. His short stories have been published in Stinging Fly, among others. This is his first novel.

Guest support writers to be announced. There will be a Q&A and a Blackwell's bookshop signing on the night.

Share with friends

Date and Time

Location

International Anthony Burgess Foundation

3 Cambridge Street

Manchester

M1 5BY

United Kingdom

View Map

Refund Policy

Refunds up to 1 day before event

Save This Event

Event Saved