Multiple Dates

DNG Earth Week special -getting to grips with climate science

Actions and Detail Panel

Sales Ended
Sales Ended

Event Information

Share this event

Date and time

Location

Location

Online event

Refund policy

Refund policy

No Refunds

Event description
Series of workshops exclusively for the DNG community run by members of the Inner Circle: understanding climate science

About this event

Let's face it, understanding the science of climate change can be pretty intimidating! 😰

That's where the Climate Collage comes in! 🤗

You'll be supporting DNG girls in 8 countries as many of them host their first workshop:

  • Monday 19th 1pm EST/New York | 11am PDT/LA: | 6pm UK: Fern (Allie) Fetherston is hosting her first workshop from Canada with Allison Whitaker - this workshop will have a North American vibe
  • Tuesday 20th 9am COT | 4pm CEST | 3pm UK: Naira Bonilla wants to reach DNGs in Latin America - she's in Spain
  • Wednesday 21st 9am CEST | 3pm Bali | 5pm AEST: Andreia Olaru has been delivering Climate Collages for a few months now - she's in Sweden
  • Thursday 22nd 9am Shanghai/Bali | 11am AEST | 6pm PDT/LA on 21st: Ely Bakouche is in Shanghai and has been hosting workshops for a while - she wants to reach more people on the US West Coast
  • Friday 23rd 10am UK time | 4pm Bangkok : Alex Turner will be hosting her first workshop from Scotland
  • Friday 23rd 5pm EDT/New York | 2pm PDT/LA : Federica Bruniera will be hosting her first workshop from Colombia
  • Saturday 24th 10am CEST | 6pm AEST: Silvia Schmidt will be hosting her first workshop from Germany
  • Sunday 25th 4pm EEST | 9am EDT/New York: Becky Wong will be hosting her first workshop from Bulgaria

More workshop dates to be confirmed. More can be added if the demand is there. Support your DNG friends as they step up their climate action. The first workshop is always the hardest, so we're looking for warm supportive members who can be encouraging and will still learn A LOT!

What is it?

  • An interactive workshop to sharpen your climate science knowledge
  • A systems mapping activity to understand the causes and effects of a complex system
  • A creative and visual way to understand climate science
  • A team activity to meet other DNGs who are curious about climate change

Logistics

  • Workshop is 3 hours long with a 10 min break in the middle
  • Max group size is 6
  • You will need to be at a laptop and ready to engage and learn (this is not a passive webinar, your participation is needed and encouraged)
  • Your Zoom link will be shared by your facilitator 1 day before your workshop

Cost

  • To confirm your spot, please pay a deposit of £5 - this money goes to With Many Roots to support their admin and to avoid no-shows. No-shows are very tiring and I don't want to let these girls down.
  • The workshop will be pay-what-you-feel. Your facilitator will share their payment method at the end of the workshop. Your facilitators will have put a lot of time and effort into preparing this workshop. The suggested donation is £25.
  • 10% of all income goes back to Climate Collage NGO

More about The Climate Collage

The Climate Collage is a non-profit organisation that aims to raise awareness and understanding about climate change. It was founded by Cédric Ringenbach in 2018 who is the creator of the workshop having the same name. ​

“The Climate Collage” is an educational tool based on the conclusions of the IPCC* report helping participants understand our climate system and the consequences of its disruption.

So far more than 100 000 people have played worldwide.

Many members of DNG and the Inner Circle have already played, here's what they had to say:

"I played a few months ago and LOVED it. Do it!" Silvia

Fantastic workshop packed full of information, ideas and facts, but presented in a really engaging way. I’ve learned a lot and feel very inspired to step up to take action. Sophia presents information so clearly and articulately and is a total master at breaking down big concepts into manageable bite-sized chunks you can actually do something with.” Alex

Laura P wrote a blog about it here.

"Definitely recommend this!!! It was a fun, non-judgmental way to learn about the intricacies of the climate crisis that has stayed with me 💚" Melissa

"I wanted to thank YOU again for the amazing event you hosted yesterday! It truly opened up my eyes on climate change and made me learn so much, I'm so grateful for you putting this together 🙌" Ines

Sam interviewed Sophia and talked about it on her podcast.

"I loved the discovery element - it felt like I was building on knowledge that I already had - as opposed to one way learning. It stayed light and fun, though we were dealing with some pretty heavy topics. We had a really genuine lovely chat after - it sparked some good new thought." Katie

"I wanted to thank you for giving me the opportunity to join a Climate Collage workshop. It was such an eye opener!" Mara

"Thanks again for the workshop last night! Knowledge is power and I learned a lot doing the Climate Collage!" Jennifer

We ran 4 workshops for the Inner Circle in 24 hours on Black Friday last year - now we're taking it out to the Facebook community.


		DNG Earth Week special -getting to grips with climate science image

These events have been organised in partnership with Digital Nomad Girls and With Many Roots.

  • Join the Inner Circle - where the confidence to grow into this project came from
  • With Many Roots - The climate crisis together with rising inequality is the biggest issue of our time- through workshops, mentoring and words, we'll help you find your place in the movement.

Location

Online event

Refund policy

No Refunds

Organiser With Many Roots

Organiser of DNG Earth Week special -getting to grips with climate science

Save This Event

Event Saved