Free

EU-China Comprehensive Agreement on Investment in Context Series (Part II)

Actions and Detail Panel

Free

Event Information

Share this event

Date and Time

Location

Location

Online Event

Event description
EU-China Comprehensive Agreement on Investment in Context Series (Part II) 29 March 2021 (9am-12:40pm London Time // 5-8.40pm Beijing time)

About this Event

Opening remarks (9am London time // 5pm Beijing time) by Dr Matthieu Burnay (QMUL) and Prof. Julien Chaisse (City University of Hong Kong)

Introductory remarks (9:10am London time // 5:10 Beijing time) by Iuliu Winkler (Standing Rapporteur INTA) (TBC)

Session 1: EU and China Investments: Right of States to Regulate

9:30am London time (5:30pm Beijing time)

Chair: Prof. Julien Chaisse

- Labour rights, by Dr. Axel Marx (Leuven Centre for Global Governance Studies)

- The “Korea labour commitments” Case-- Lessons and Prospects for CAI, by Dr Sungjing Kang (Kim and Chang)

- Environmental rights, by Dr Dominic Dagbanja (University of West Australia)

Discussants: Prof. Markus Krajewski, Erlangen (University of Erlangen Nuremberg) and Prof. Sophie Meunier (Princeton University) (TBC)

Session 2: Towards Ratification by EU and China

11:00am London time (7:00pm Beijing time)

Chair: Dr Matthieu Burnay

- The EU-Vietnam FTA experience, by Prof. Claudio Dordi (Bocconi University)

- The EU Ratification Process by Dr Kolja Raube (University of Leuven)

- The China Ratification Process, by Prof. Li Bin (Beijing Normal University)

Discussants: Dr Shaohua Yan (Fudan University) and Prof. Men Jing (Dalian University of Technology)

12:30pm London time (8:30pm Beijing time)

Concluding remarks by Dr Matthieu Burnay (QMUL) and Prof. Julien Chaisse (City University of Hong Kong)

**Please note this will be an online event and all registrants will be sent joining instructions on Friday 26th March.

Tags
Share with friends

Date and Time

Location

Online Event

Save This Event

Event Saved