The former Harland & Wolff Headquarters Building & Drawing Offices was built in sections between 1889 and 1922. A new Administrative Building was constructed c.1910. The single storey entrance block built c.1889 was demolished c.1911 and replaced with the current threestorey block fronting Queen’s Road and connecting to the c.1910 Administrative Building. Since 1989 a number of structures have been removed.
Maeve Curran and Siobhan Mc Laughlin from the Titanic Foundation will lead you on a hard hat guided tour of the most significant and oldest structure remaining of Belfast’s shipbuilding industry on Queen’s Island. The HQ Building and Drawing Offices is currently undergoing restoration and development into a four star boutique hotel, and this will be a unique opportunity to see ‘behind the scenes’ before work is completed. The tour will focus on the heritage features of the building.
Note: This tour may be cancelled or rescheduled at short notice due to the construction schedule. Photography will not be permitted.
Accessibility: This is a building site, so access is very limited. All attendees will be required to wear safety footwear and full safety equipment including hardhats and reflective jackets. They will also be required to have a full H&S induction to the site.
Architect: RMI and Consarc for conservation
For more events in the Open House Belfast festival, visit http://openhousebelfast.org