George Alagiah

Event Information

Share this event

Date and Time

Location

Location

Bushell Hall

Birkenhead School

Oxton

Wirral

Ch43 2jd

United Kingdom

View Map

Refund Policy

Refund Policy

No Refunds

Event description

Description

We are thrilled to host BBC1 news presenter George Alagiah.


The venue is Bushell Hall, Birkenhead School , Oxton, Wirral.


Before becoming the presenter of BBC News at Six, George Alagiah was known for his work as one of the BBC’s foreign correspondents. He covered the genocide in Rwanda, civil wars in Afghanistan and Liberia, the Truth and Reconciliation Commission in South Africa and the 9/11 terror attacks on New York, winning numerous awards for his coverage, from Amnesty International and The Royal Television Society among others. Prior to joining the BBC in 1989, Alagiah worked in print journalism for seven years. In 2008 he was awarded the OBE for services to journalism.
TheBurning Land is George Alagiah’s first work of fiction and sees him delve into the spaces between the despatches he has brought to the nation as a reporter. He has published two works of non-fiction: A Passage to Africa (2001) and Home from Home (2006)


This is the exhilarating debut novel from the much-loved, award-winning BBC broadcaster. His two works of nonfiction -A Passage to Africa and A Home From Homehave sold 39,500 and 14,000 respectively through TCM
Perfect for fans of John Le Carré's The Constant Gardener, Gillian Slovo's Red Dust and Andrew Marr's Head of State and Children of the Master
Reviews:
‘Praise for George Alagiah: Courageous, controversial, compassionate’ -Daily Mail
‘Without rhetoric or rancour, his eloquent book places these issues in their true context, and frames some of the major moral questions of our time’ -Independent
‘An optimistic book suffused with Alagiah’s outraged humanity’ -Observer
‘The emphatic authority that George Alagiah has brought to his reports from Africa for BBC News is just as strong a component of his book’ -The Times
Description:
‘It was never meant to be like this. Sabotage, yes. Propaganda, yes. All of that and more –but not this. Not murder.’
As greed and corruption taint the optimism of a nation, the political becomes deeply personal for former childhood friends, Lindi and Kagiso. Their beloved home country, South Africa, is rapidly turning into a powder keg, as nations fight for ownership of its land and resources. With the murder of one of the nation’s bright young hopes, the fuse is well and truly lit.
As the hunt for his killer intensifies, Lindi and Kagiso come together to protect the land and people they love; even as events are set in motion that no one –least of all they –can control.

Date and Time

Location

Bushell Hall

Birkenhead School

Oxton

Wirral

Ch43 2jd

United Kingdom

View Map

Refund Policy

No Refunds

Save This Event

Event Saved