Guardian Newsroom: The changing face of populism in Europe

Guardian Newsroom: The changing face of populism in Europe

Actions and Detail Panel

From £7.92

Date and time

Location

Online event

Refund policy

No Refunds

Our panel of Guardian journalists will discuss far-right populism in Europe, at this livestreamed event.

About this event

For the past 20 years, populism, which frames politics as a battle between regular working individuals and a corrupt elite, has been on the rise across the globe. According to the political scientist Cas Mudde, populist ideologies can sit on either the left or the right – but it’s far-right populist leaders who sit in many of Europe’s most powerful seats.

While a major YouGov survey has demonstrated decreased support for populist sentiment, the recent presidential election in France has shown a marked increase, with Marine Le Pen delivering the far right its biggest-ever score. Post-election analysis suggests her proposals to tackle the cost of living crisis appealed to voters who tagged Emmanuel Macron the ‘president of the rich’. At the same time, however, support for populist parties in Germany has fallen in successive recent elections - while in Italy, elections next year could see populist parties triumph.

So is far-right populism on the rise in Europe? Why is it doing less well in some countries than others? Does the divide run along political lines, or between the “haves” and the “have nots”? The Guardian’s Europe correspondent Jon Henley chairs our panel of speakers, with Berlin bureau chief, Philip Oltermann, Guardian's Rome correspondent, Angela Giuffrida and multimedia journalist based in Spain, Ashifa Kassam.

Running time: 60 minutes

This event will be hosted on a third-party live streaming platform Zoom, please refer to their privacy policy and terms and conditions before purchasing a ticket to the event. After registering, please refer to your confirmation email for access to the event.

Closed captions will be available for this event. To make use of this function, click the globe icon at the bottom of your screen once you have logged in to the event.

This event is being streamed globally.

8pm BST | 9pm CEST | 5am AEST | 3pm EDT

Or see this time zone converter to check your local live streaming time.

If you are unable to join at the time of streaming, this event will be available to watch on demand in the days following. A link to the recording will be sent to all ticket holders.

<!-- main-image: https://media.gutools.co.uk/images/7aeae84be86597c189a9f9779c9f4096437d3788?crop=0_15_2000_1166 →</p>

Share with friends

Save This Event

Event Saved