£10

Headline New Voices 2019

Event Information

Share this event

Date and Time

Location

Location

Carmelite House

50 Victoria Embankment

London

EC4Y 0LS

United Kingdom

View Map

Event description

Description

Join us for an evening of books, booze, food and fabulous authors to celebrate our amazing debuts of 2019.

Launching our 2019 calendar of events, this must-not-miss event will feature six of our most hotly anticipated debut authors of next year, Rhik Samadder, Harriet Tyce, Richard Lumsden, Sarah-Davis Goff, Dominic Nolan and Emily Gunnis. Our chair for this fantastic evening is journalist and broadcaster Hannah Beckerman, and with such an exciting line-up amid the lights of London’s iconic skyline this is a definite date for your 2019 diary.

Presenter and actor Rhik Samadder’s I Never Said I Loved You announces the arrival of a funny, raw and powerful new voice on the subject of depression, masculinity and coming-of-age. A hilarious and deeply effective memoir from a man who opened up for the first time on an unlikely backpacking trip with his mother in Thailand …

Harriet Tyce is another stunning new voice, introducing her dark and electrifying crime-thriller Blood Orange. Appealing to fans of Apple Tree Yard and Anatomy of a Scandal, it is a classy thriller with complex and compelling characters – and a twist that will stay with you ALL year.

If you were looking back over a hundred years of your life, what would you change? Actor Richard Lumsden unpicks this with wonderfully quirky, honest and heartfelt novel, The Six Loves of Billy Binns. The deliciously warm, wise story of a man who wants to fall in love one last time.

Sarah Davis-Goff is hugely well-loved on the Irish literary scene as co-founder of independent literary publisher Tramp Press. She is a Bookseller Rising Star 2018 and will be introducing us to her raw and deeply evocative dystopian feminist literary debut, Last Ones Left Alive.

Dominic Nolan is a blistering new voice in crime fiction. Past Life - a gripping and razor-sharp debut perfect for fans of Susie Steiner's Missing, Presumed, and Ian Rankin's Rebus series.

From literary scouts to international editors, everyone has been raving about The Girl In The Letter by Emily Gunnis. Find out what’s got everyone talking as she talks to us about one of the most gripping, heart wrenching page-turners of the year.

Tickets are £10 and include a welcome drink, nibbles and a goodie bag including an early preview book of one of our debut authors.

Please arrive from 6:30pm for a prompt 7pm start.

Share with friends

Date and Time

Location

Carmelite House

50 Victoria Embankment

London

EC4Y 0LS

United Kingdom

View Map

Save This Event

Event Saved