Free
How to Become a Book Designer

How to Become a Book Designer

Actions and Detail Panel

Free

Event Information

Share this event

Date and time

Location

Location

Online event

Event description
Book designers Asya Blue and Jeff Brown offer advice for graphic designers and illustrators looking to get into publishing.

About this event

Outsiders tend to group all kinds of design under a single artistic umbrella, but designers know that each medium calls for a different set of knowledge and skills.

So how does book design differ from other lines of design work? What skills will you need to make the jump into the publishing industry? Reedsy book designers Asya Blue and Jeff Brown successfully made the move from marketing and game design respectively. In this special freelancers’ webinar, they will show you how they got their foot on the publishing ladder. They’ll talk about:

  • Essential book cover design skills, including typography and stock image manipulation;
  • Formatting techniques and tools needed for interior book design;
  • Key features of the book market and buyers’ behaviors;
  • Things to note when working with indie authors.

Watch their discussion live — Asya and Jeff will answer questions from the audience at the end of the webinar.

Register now!

Wednesday May 18, at 3 pm New York (Noon Pacific, 8 pm London, 3 am Hong Kong)

Asya Blue has worked as a graphic designer and art director at various in-house art departments and is currently running her own freelance business, through which she has completed over 100 book design projects in the last two years. She also teaches graphic design at many New York-area universities, mentoring students toward successful completion of their studies and portfolio preparations.

Jeff Brown is a book cover designer and illustrator specializing in epic fantasy and science fiction. He has worked on 800+ covers with indie authors as well as major publishers like HarperCollins, Bloomsbury, Baen, and Audible. He also has experience in video game concept art, board game illustration, and logo design.

Share with friends

Date and time

Location

Online event

Save This Event

Event Saved