Ibram X Kendi on the next steps for an antiracist society

Ibram X Kendi on the next steps for an antiracist society

Actions and Detail Panel

£11.05

Date and time

Location

Online event

Refund policy

No Refunds

Join How to be an Antiracist author Ibram X Kendi in conversation with BBC presenter Razia Iqbal.

About this event

Ibram X Kendi shot to global fame with his book How To Be an Antiracist, which reshaped the conversation about racial justice when it was published in 2019, selling over 1 million copies in the US and 100,000 copies in the UK. Now on July 4 he comes to the Intelligence Squared stage for an exclusive event to talk about his new book How To Raise an Antiracist.

How do we talk to our children about racism? How do we teach children to be antiracist? How do kids at different ages experience race? How are racist structures impacting children? How can we inspire our children to avoid our mistakes, to be better, to make the world better?

These are the questions Kendi found himself avoiding as he anticipated the birth of his first child. Like most parents or parents-to-be, he felt the reflex to not talk to his child about racism, which he feared would stain her innocence and steal away her joy. But, as Kendi will argue, it is only by teaching our children about the reality of racism and the myth of race from the earliest age that we can actually protect them and preserve their innocence and joy. And he will draw on a century of scientific research and his own compelling personal story to make his case.

Kendi will be joined in conversation by BBC news presenter Razia Iqbal. Is Kendi right that no child is too young to be taught about antiracism? Or, as other African American thinkers have argued, is there a danger in making every child a representative of their race?

This event, livestreamed from Conway Hall in London, is presented by Intelligence Squared.

Running time: 90 minutes

This event will be hosted on a third-party live streaming platform Slido, please refer to their privacy policy and terms and conditions before purchasing a ticket to the event. After registering, please refer to your confirmation email for access to the event.

This event is being streamed globally.

7pm BST| 8pm CEST | 11am PDT | 2pm EDT

Or see this time zone converter to check your local live streaming time.

If you are unable to join at the time of streaming, this event will be available to watch on demand in the days following. A link to the recording will be sent to all ticket holders.

Share with friends

Save This Event

Event Saved