£7.92 – £24.64
Jonathan Freedland: The Escape Artist

Jonathan Freedland: The Escape Artist

Actions and Detail Panel

From £7.92

Event Information

Share this event

Date and time

Location

Location

Online event

Refund policy

Refund policy

No Refunds

Event description
Guardian journalist and broadcaster Jonathan Freedland will introduce his new nonfiction book, The Escape Artist.

About this event

Already acclaimed by the historian Sir Antony Beevor as "an immediate classic", it is the extraordinary story of 19 year old Rudolf Vrba: in April 1944, he and fellow inmate Fred Wetzler became the first Jews ever to break out of Auschwitz. They did it to warn the world of the reality of the Final Solution, eventually smuggling out a detailed report that would reach Churchill, Roosevelt and the pope – and help to save over 200,000 lives. Freedland argues that Vrba deserves to be ranked alongside Anne Frank, Oskar Schindler and Primo Levi, among those whose stories define the Holocaust.

The Escape Artist is a thrilling adventure story, but it also raises profound questions for our own time: how the difference between truth and lies can be the difference between life and death, and how people can find it impossible to believe in their own imminent destruction.

Jonathan Freedland will be talking to Hadley Freeman, fellow Guardian journalist and the author of House of Glass, a family memoir of the Holocaust in France. They will both be taking your questions during this livestreamed event.

Running time: 60 minutes

This event will be hosted on a third-party live streaming platform Zoom, please refer to their privacy policy and terms and conditions before purchasing a ticket to the event. After registering, please refer to your confirmation email for access to the event.

Closed captions will be available for this event.

If you live in the UK, you can buy a ticket with a copy of The Escape Artist at checkout for a special combined price of £23 (RRP £20). Books will be despatched from publication date, 9 June. You can also add a copy of Hadley Freeman's House of Glass to your ticket.

This event is being streamed globally.

8pm BST | 9pm CEST | 12pm PDT | 3pm EST

Or see this time zone converter to check your local live streaming time.

If you are unable to join at the time of streaming, this event will be available to watch on demand in the days following. A link to the recording will be sent to all ticket holders.

Share with friends

Date and time

Location

Online event

Refund policy

No Refunds

Save This Event

Event Saved