Marriage (With Isabela Granic and Visakan Veerasamy) Interintellect Salon

Event Information

Share this event

Date and Time

Location

Location

Online Event

Refund Policy

Refund Policy

Contact the organiser to request a refund.

Eventbrite's fee is nonrefundable.

Event description
Fellow Interintellects Isabela Granic and Visakan Veerasamy explore the meaning, structure, purpose and pitfalls of marriage in our century

About this Event

"Marriage can seem both a quaint and outdated enterprise while at the same time feel like the most vital and enlivening institution. People all over the world are decrying the merits of marriage while at the very same time they are living for decades in romantic relationships, enjoying the complexity of long-term love and sex, endorsing the legal advantages of the institution and having children out of wedlock in record numbers.

We are at a particularly interesting historical period to consider the many facets of marriage: Internationally, marriage rates are declining, divorce rates are actually decreasing (but happy marriages are also declining), and there are fewer and fewer financial advantages to joining in legal matrimony. So why does the institution of marriage still persist in such a robust state all over the world while the serious drawbacks are apparent?

In this Interintellect Salon on marriage, we will cover a wide array of perspectives. We'll ask core theoretical and scientific questions about what we know works in holding the institution of marriage together and how marriage can and does work for so many of us psychologically. And we will also get personal: We'll dive into exploring the successful marriages we know (our own and others') and think about how we can fix what's broken or walk away from what no longer can be mended.

Some of the questions we'll cover include: Is the institution of marriage dead or is it in need of innovation? What makes for a perfect marriage partner? What does science have to say about what makes the healthiest, long-lasting relationships work? How do marital relationships change over time (if they're supposed to change at all)? Are we doomed to marry the "wrong" person? What does compatibility mean in a successful marriage? Can marriages stay as romantic as they started? Is it ever too early or too late to get married? And so much more!"

Salon hosts: developmental psychology professor Isabela Granic, PhD and internet philosopher Visakan Veerasmy

***

Good to read or watch pre-Salon:

***

Time zones:

  • 8:30 pm in Mumbai
  • 11 pm in Singapore
  • 4 pm in London
  • 5 pm in Berlin
  • 11 am in New York
  • 8 am in San Francisco
  • 1 am in Sydney

***

Free entry for Interintellect Hosts. Donating is possible - see here.

We have many more cool Interintellect events coming up - see here.

Waiting list for the community - see here.

You will be sent a Zoom link before the event when bookings closed.

Find our online code of conduct here.

Date and Time

Location

Online Event

Refund Policy

Contact the organiser to request a refund.

Eventbrite's fee is nonrefundable.

Save This Event

Event Saved