Sales Ended

OPF Webinar: FIDO for format identification, and why it matters

Event Information

Share this event

Date and Time

Friends Who Are Going
Event description

Description

FIDO (Format Identification for Digital Objects) is a command-line tool maintained by the OPF and used for identification of digital files based on their PRONOM signature. This webinar will provide an update on the FIDO project by outlining recent improvements to the tool. We will also discuss:

  • Why is format identification so important?

  • What are some of the other tools that do file format identification?

  • Why is there a need for different methods and tools?

  • What factors are in play when choosing between tools?

  • Sample workflows for file identification

Session lead

Sarah Romkey, Artefactual

Date and Time

Tuesday 10 May, 16:00 BST / 17:00 CET (11:00 EST, 08:00 PST). The webinar will last approximately one hour.

Meeting space

We will use Google Hangouts for this webinar. The link will be sent to you in the confirmation email.

The webinar will be recorded and made available to OPF members.

Share with friends

Date and Time

Save This Event

Event Saved