Skip Main Navigation
Page Content
This event has ended

Save This Event

Event Saved

OPF Webinar - From the Preservation Toolkit: JHOVE2

Open Preservation Foundation

Friday, January 31, 2014 from 2:00 PM to 3:00 PM (GMT)

OPF Webinar - From the Preservation Toolkit: JHOVE2

Ticket Information

Type End Quantity
Webinar Ended Free  

Who's Going

Loading your connections...

Share OPF Webinar - From the Preservation Toolkit: JHOVE2

Event Details

This webinar will give an overview of JHOVE2, the free and open-source tool for characterizing digital objects. It will cover the motivation for creating a second-generation version of JHOVE some of the new features of the tool, including the ability to perform not just format identification, validation, and feature extraction, but also assessment (a policy-based determination of the acceptability of a format instance, regardless of its validation). It will discuss JHOVE2's more sophisticated data model of a format instance, embracing complex digital objects that can be composed of more than one file, each of a possibly different format. It will provide pointers on JHOVE2's setup and use. It will briefly introduce the tool's architecture, and ways in which it has been and can continue to be extended to include more formats, building on existing libraries and tools.

There are twenty-five places available on a first come, first serve basis.

Date: Friday 31 Janaury
Time: 09:00 EST / 13:00 GMT / 14:00 CET
Duration: 1 hour
Session Lead: Sheila Morrissey, Portico

Have questions about OPF Webinar - From the Preservation Toolkit: JHOVE2? Contact Open Preservation Foundation

Interested in hosting your own event?

Join millions of people on Eventbrite.

Please log in or sign up

In order to purchase these tickets in installments, you'll need an Eventbrite account. Log in or sign up for a free account to continue.