£89.48

Pitching to journalists: A practical workshop for PR professionals

Event Information

Share this event

Date and Time

Location

Location

Online Event

Event description
Learn what editors and journalists are looking for in a PR pitch and refine your pitching skills in this online workshop with Kate Carter

About this Event

As a PR professional, small business owner or social media executive, how can you ensure your client or business is getting the press coverage they deserve?

If you are continually pitching to editors and finding it difficult to place, struggling to make your brilliant story heard over all the white noise, or are uncertain how to approach a pitch to begin with, this online workshop with expert Kate Carter will help you to refine your pitching skills and learn how - and who - to approach.

Loaded with essential information for anyone with a need to get their voice heard by the media, this interactive masterclass will see your confidence grow and your knowledge of the changing media landscape sharpen.

Course content

  • How different areas of the press and media operate, and how journalists find stories
  • The importance of strong storytelling in securing press coverage (and also knowing when to be brief)
  • How to think creatively about your business/client
  • What journalists and editors are looking for - and what they aren’t!
  • The dos and don’ts of working with the media
  • How to build strong relationships with journalists and editor
  • Your questions answered: put your pitching questions to Kate

Tutor profile

Kate Carter is a freelance editor, writer and presenter. She was previously Life and Style editor at the Guardian for 11 years, editing subjects from Family to Gardening, but with a particular focus on health and fitness. She still writes for the Guardian, as well as Runners World, Lonely Planet and more - and also presents for The Running Channel. During her time at the Guardian one of her most rewarding roles was to help small and ethical businesses to showcase their products, from the Christmas gift guide to the ethical fashion directory.

You will be sent a link to the webinar 1hr before the start time of 5.30pm (GMT).

This masterclass is available globally. If you are joining us from outside the United Kingdom, please use this time zone converter to check your local live streaming time.

5.30pm GMT | 6.30pm CEST | 9.30am PST | 12.30pm EST

All Guardian Masterclasses are fully accessible but please contact us at masterclasses@theguardian.com if you have any queries or concerns.

Full course and returns information on the Masterclasses website

Share with friends

Date and Time

Location

Online Event

Save This Event

Event Saved