Free

Quaker Conversation 7: Parallels between Apartheid & A Pandemic Mentality

Actions and Detail Panel

Free

Event Information

Share this event

Date and Time

Location

Location

Online Event

Event description
Quaker Conversations, session 7: Social Revolution & Adaptive Community; Parallels between Apartheid & A Pandemic Mentality.

About this Event

About the Quaker Conversation Webinar Series

In its role of providing connective tissue, FWCC is offering a series of Quaker Conversation sessions to any Friends who want to listen and learn and contribute to concerns important to Friends, particularly during this time of grief and reflection and, transformation.

Session 7:

Please join us on January 30th for Quaker Conversation 7: Social Revolution & Adaptive Community; Parallels between Apartheid & a Pandemic Mentality’ with Nozizwe Madlala-Routledge and Jeremy Routledge.

Come, listen, and learn with Friends around the world.

This is event is in partnership with FWCC Africa Section.

Corresponding timezones around the world:

  • Johannesburg, South Africa 14:00 SAST
  • Nairobi, Kenya 15:00 EAT
  • London, United Kingdom 12:00 GMT
  • Paris, France 13:00 CET
  • New York, USA 07:00 EST
  • Washington DC, USA 07:00 EST
  • Philadelphia, USA 07:00 EST
  • Mexico City, Mexico 06:00 CST
  • Tokyo, Japan 21:00 JST
  • Melbourne, Australia 23:00 AEDT

About our speakers:

Nozizwe served as a guest lecturer at Haverford College, as part of the Friend in Residence Programme, hosted by the Quaker Affairs Office. She has contributed to the health, social welfare of women in the various important roles she has had in the South African Government through her leadership and standing up for the citizens of her country.

When she left Parliament after 15 years, Nozizwe and Jeremy established Embrace Dignity, a women’s human rights NGO campaigning for the abolition of the system of prostitution, through focusing on ending the demand. Embrace Dignity strives for the realization of gender equality by directly challenging patriarchal, cultural and gender norms that oppress women and girls in the system of prostitution. We do this by championing the human rights of prostituted people through our Law Reform Advocacy, Public Education and Exit program.

Jeremy was an activist in the struggle to end apartheid through supporting conscientious objectors, detainees and the End Conscription Campaign. He had a career in industry, engineering and teacher education, and was the Director of the Quaker Peace Centre in Cape Town.

Nozizwe and Jeremy are members of the Quaker Community in the Western Cape, which is part of Southern Africa YM. Nozizwe delivered the Richard Gush Lecture “Speaking Truth to Power - Peace is a Struggle” in 2006 and was invited to deliver the Salter Lecture at BYM 2020, postponed to 2021. Jeremy attended a number of meetings of the Quaker Peace Network - Africa in Burundi and Kenya and is a facilitator in the Alternatives to Violence Project (AVP).

Additional Event Details:

  • This event will be held in English. If you need additional interpretation or assistance, please contact faithb@fwcc.world with the subject line 'interpretation request'.
  • This event will be hosted online. Once you register on Eventbrite, you will get a link to the zoom meeting where this event will be hosted.

Share with friends

Date and Time

Location

Online Event

Save This Event

Event Saved