£4.48 – £6.72

Sci Fi Sessions:Gareth Powell and E.J. Swift

Event Information

Share this event

Date and Time

Location

Location

Waterstones

82 Gower Street

London

WC1E 6EQ

United Kingdom

View Map

Refund Policy

Refund Policy

No Refunds

Event description

Description

Sci-Fi Sessions is a monthly event showcasing the most mind-expanding, thought-provoking, and imaginative science fiction, fantasy, and horror writing, hand-picked and hosted by by Gower Street's Glyn Morgan. Join us for readings, conversation, and wine followed by a book signing.

In February Sci Fi Sessions takes us on journeys through space and through time. Join us as Gareth Powell unveils his latest thrilling novel, Embers of War, a space opera in which the main character is the sentient warship Trouble Dog who is sent on a rescue mission that goes horribly wrong; perfect for fans of Iain M. Banks and Ann Leckie. Closer to home, but no less weird or exciting, E. J. Swift's new novel, Paris Adrift, centres on Hallie as she discovers the mysteries of the Chronometrist and the time portal in her pub's keg room, she journeys backwards and forwards through time to save her future, but each trip loses a little bit of herself and puts the future a bit more out of reach; think The Time Machine meets Midnight in Paris.

Both wonderful writers, Gareth won the British Science Fiction Association award for Best Novel in 2013 for his novel Ack-Ack Macaque (the first in a brilliant trilogy about a foul-mouthed, spitfire-flying monkey), whilst E. J. Swift's Osiris Project trilogy was bleak but beautiful in its depiction of a world radically altered by climate change.

All tickets include a glass of wine and a 15% discount on any event titles purchased. BUY ONLINE, IN STORE OR BY PHONING 020 76361577.

Share with friends

Date and Time

Location

Waterstones

82 Gower Street

London

WC1E 6EQ

United Kingdom

View Map

Refund Policy

No Refunds

Save This Event

Event Saved