The Belfast Telegraph was founded in 1870 by brothers William and George Baird. As the firm grew in size, the decision was taken to establish a new headquarters building at the newly laid out Royal Avenue. Henry Seaver was selected as architect and the building was completed in red brick and Dumfries red sandstone by H & J Martin, the same company that built the Central Library and later the City Hall.
The building was extended on numerous occasions during the early 20th century and by the 1980s plans were in motion to invest £8m into a new extension, designed with glazed curtain-walling and blank exposed aggregate panels by Ferguson McIlveen to provide new modern printing facilities for the Telegraph.
Join us for the walk through this iconic city building and hear about the new plans for it from Peter Minnis from Todd Architects.
Meeting Point: Side door, Library Street
Accessibility: Not wheelchair accessible; stairs to climb
Architect: Henry Seaver
For more events in the Open House Belfast festival, visit http://openhousebelfast.org