$ { event_container.display_price }

Uncommon Wealth: Can we change colonial legacy?

Actions and Detail Panel

From £7.92

Event Information

Share this event

Date and time

Location

Location

Online event

Refund policy

Refund policy

No Refunds

Event description
Author and academic Kojo Koram will join our panel of speakers to explore how the British Empire continues to shape modern society.

About this event

When the Empire supposedly ‘ended’ with the transfer of Hong Kong to China in 1997, Britain didn’t just put its former colonies back the way they were found. Instead, an interconnected group of wealthy politicians, lawyers and accountants offshored their capital, seizing assets and transferring debt to former ‘dependencies’ - thus deepening already horrific inequality across the globe.

This is one of the many scandals that Koram uncovers in his blistering new book, Uncommon Wealth. From Britain’s outrageous treatment of independent countries, to how the empirical legacy of greed and capital has shaped everything – including the ability of countries to respond to crises such as the pandemic, the collapse of the Red Wall and Brexit – Koram draws on his personal and professional experience to ask: did the Empire ever really end? How has its legacy contributed to spiralling wealth inequality, both overseas and in Britain? And with whom is our ‘common wealth’ shared?

Join our panel of speakers for this livestreamed event, with the Guardian’s north of England correspondent Maya Wolfe-Robinson as chair, senior editor at Novara Media, and lecturer at the Sandberg Instituut Ash Sarkar; and academic, broadcaster and author Emma Dabiri.

Running time: 60 minutes

This event will be hosted on a third-party live streaming platform Zoom, please refer to their privacy policy and terms and conditions before purchasing a ticket to the event. After registering, please refer to your confirmation email for access to the event.

Closed captions will be available for this event.

If you live in the United Kingdom, you can purchase a ticket with a copy of Uncommon Wealth , Britain and the Aftermath of Empire at checkout for a special combined price of £22.

This event is being streamed globally.

8pm BST | 9pm CEST | 12pm PT | 3pm ET

Or see this time zone converter to check your local live streaming time.

If you are unable to join at the time of streaming, this event will be available to watch on demand in the days following. A link to the recording will be sent to all ticket holders.

Share with friends

Date and time

Location

Online event

Refund policy

No Refunds

Save This Event

Event Saved