Actions and Detail Panel
Fri 20 January 2017, 10:00 – 12:00 GMT
Known as Plymouth Dock prior to 1824, the then newly named Devonport owed much of its origin to the establishment of the Dockyard. As a Town in its own right it possessed all the amenities a resident would expect, from churches and chapels to a grand Town Hall, schools, post office, library and market. Like its neighbouring towns of Plymouth and [East] Stonehouse much was lost during the bombing raids of WW2 but there are still many fascinating glimpses of old Devonport to be seen to this day. Join Graham Naylor as he describes life in Victorian Devonport using archive photographs and contemporary newspaper reports.