Free

Multiple Dates

Whiteley Woods Outdoor Activity Centre Heritage Open Day

Actions and Detail Panel

Free
Free

Event Information

Share this event

Date and time

Location

Location

Whiteley woods OAC

Common Lane

Sheffield

S11 7TG

United Kingdom

View Map

Event description
Discover the story of the 300-year-old Grade II-listed stable block of Whiteley Wood Hall and experience its tranquil nine-acre grounds.

About this event

The stable block was originally used as domestic support buildings for Whiteley Wood Hall, which dated back to 1663. By 1929 the hall was in disrepair after the roof became damp. The estate had been divided up and Sheffield Girl Guides bought part of it in 1935 for £3,000. The roof of the hall was removed and the building was demolished in the early 1960s.

The stables themselves date back to the late 18th century and early 19th century, with mid and late 20th century alterations, and sit around a central yard. They currently house a residential facility, wardens’ cottages, storage and meeting areas and are surrounded by campsites and activity areas.

Various parts of the stables and site are named after famous people and benefactors who enabled Girlguiding Sheffield to own such a unique place. Thomas Boulsover, the inventor of Sheffield plate, purchased the hall in 1760 for 1,000 guineas and died there in 1788. Samuel Plimsoll, who rented the hall, was MP for Derby and entertained many well-known politicians at the hall in the 1870’s.

Learn more about the history of the site, some of the people who made the hall their home, and how the site is used today with a guided tour.

Share with friends

Location

Whiteley woods OAC

Common Lane

Sheffield

S11 7TG

United Kingdom

View Map

Organiser Whiteley Woods Outdoor Activity Centre

Organiser of Whiteley Woods Outdoor Activity Centre Heritage Open Day

Save This Event

Event Saved