How to Write Engaging Characters | Reedsy Live

How to Write Engaging Characters | Reedsy Live

Actions and Detail Panel

Free

Date and time

Location

Online event

Learn how to bring your characters to life with nothing more than the written word.

About this event

Everyone loves masterfully crafted book characters, but what does it take to bring one to life?

Wrestling with fictional characters is a familiar pastime for experienced as well as new writers. Yet, every reader who cracks open a book expects to be fascinated by the people they meet there. It’s an ongoing struggle to create realistic characters who fulfill all the functions of story and resonate with the reader as real, engaging people.

In this webinar, author and editor Oksana Marafioti will teach you:

  • The basics of writing characters;
  • Techniques for making them believable and entertaining; and
  • How to make sure they fit into your story.

Register now!

Wednesday 3rd August at 3 pm New York • Noon Pacific • 8 pm London • 12.30 am Delhi • 3 am Hong Kong • 5 am Sydney

Oksana Marafioti is the bestselling author of AMERICAN GYPSY: A MEMOIR (FSG, 2012). Her writings have appeared in RUMPUS, SLATE, TIME magazines, and more. Oksana was the 2013 BMI - Library of Congress Fellow and the 2020 recipient of the Picador Excellence in Literature Award from the University of Leipzig, Germany. She is the founder of Lounge Writers, an online creative writing studio that offers craft classes to writers of all genres and levels.

Share with friends