Multiple Dates

Introducing Charles Lyell’s World Online

Actions and Detail Panel

Sales Ended
Sales Ended

Event Information

Share this event

Date and Time

Location

Location

Online Event

Event description
Join us to learn about Sir Charles Lyell, one of the most influential geologists of the 19th century.

About this Event

Lyell was widely credited with establishing geology as a popular and rigorous science. He was known internationally for his bestselling books and travels around Britain, Europe and Eastern North America. It is a life and a world recorded in detail in his extensive historic archives, which include notebooks, letters and literary works. Together they offer insights not only into Lyell’s life and work, but glimpses of his wider world.

The University of Edinburgh, thanks to generous supporters, has been able to bring the Lyell archives together. With further support, we’re planning to make the collection widely available, including through a new website and hub ‘Charles Lyell’s World Online’, with work beginning soon.

Sign up to one of our events to ask questions about Lyell, his archives and our plans.

* Tuesday, February 9th 2021, GMT: 19.00-20.00, EST: 14.00-15.00, CST: 13.00-14.00

* Tuesday, February 16th, 2021, GMT: 17.00-18.00, EST: 12.00-13.00, CST: 11.00-12.00

Find out more

You may also discover more on our website and on our blog Through Lyell's Eyes.

Email: david.mcclay@ed.ac.uk

David McClay, Philanthropy Manager, Library & University Collections

PLEASE NOTE:

This event may be recorded for promotional or recruitment materials for the University and University approved third parties. If you do not want to be in the recordings please contact the organiser at protocol.office@ed.ac.uk. Any written questions or comments may be subject to Freedom of Information legislation.

In order to facilitate some of our online bookings for other events, we use Eventbrite - a third party service which is not operated by the University of Edinburgh, Details of Eventbrite's privacy policy can be found here.


		Introducing Charles Lyell’s World Online image

		Introducing Charles Lyell’s World Online image

Location

Online Event

Save This Event

Event Saved