Methods, Theories, and Taking Action through Gender and Feminisms in HCI.

Methods, Theories, and Taking Action through Gender and Feminisms in HCI.

Actions and Detail Panel

Sales Ended

    Location

    Online event

    The hybrid format of our Methods, Theories and Taking Action through Gender and Feminisms in HCI.

    About this event

    Background

    GeDIS and Fempower.tech are proud to present our novel hybrid symposium on methods, theories and taking action through Gender and Feminisms in Human-Computer Interaction. While it has been a long journey to get here we are so grateful that our funders Die VolkswagenStiftung have agreed to incorporate both face-to-face and online events across a month-long series of events.

    Our event sessions will be an opportunity to share your views and experience on gender, feminisms and methods, connect with others in the field and contribute towards cultivating a community of practice in this space. Beyond the event, we hope to turn the outcomes into published material in the form of a handbook for feminist methods in this space, and document our conversations through design and creative practice that can be distributed throughout research and practice.

    The full workshop schedule and eligibility criteria is below. You are welcome to sign up to as many events as you wish. Our event has been re-organized to span over five weeks on the following dates and cover the following themes:

    Defining feminist and gender HCI

    Wednesday 08.09.2021.

    13:30 BST / 14:30 CEST / 08:30 EDT

    Ways of Practice

    Wednesday 15.09.2021.

    13:30 BST / 14:30 CEST / 08:30 EDT

    Learning Methods

    Wednesday 29.09.2021.

    13:30 BST / 14:30 CEST / 08:30 EDT

    Establish a Peer-mentoring scheme + facilitating research collaborations

    Wednesday 06.10.2021.

    13:30 BST / 14:30 CEST / 08:30 EDT

    For a more detailed breakdown of all of our events, please see our website: https://methods2020.fempower.tech/programme.

    Further Questions?

    Email rfb242@cornell.edu (formerly r.f.bellini@newcastle.ac.uk) with any questions about the event or Feminist Methods symposium.